Logan Schools honor bus drivers, Supervisor Rippy

Posted on October 23, 2015 9:27 PM

On Wednesday, Oct. 14, the bus drivers of the Logan County School System gathered at Colonial Inn to have their annual “Drivers’ Breakfast.” This event is hosted each year as a time to recognize drivers for their hard work and commitment to safely delivering students to and from school. 

At this year’s breakfast, three drivers were specifically recognized for winning the “Drivers’ Rodeo.” The Rodeo consists of testing driving skills and a 100-question test!  This year, Dottie Coker of Chandlers took home the first place trophy, Dinah Cayford of Logan County High came in second, and Helen Schoenborn of Lewisburg brought home third place.  These ladies are to be commended for their skills! 

No one walked away empty handed at this year’s breakfast; everyone who attended received a door prize.  Door prizes for this year’s breakfast were donated by local businesses, and the transportation department greatly appreciates the support of the business community.

During the breakfast, Ben Kemplin, Director of Human Resources and Operations for Logan County Schools, addressed the drivers, thanking them for all their hard work and dedication to transporting students safely to and from school. Kemplin also publicly thanked Transportation Supervisor Chris Rippy for his hard work and dedication, as well, and recognized Rippy for coming to the aid of a Murray Independent school bus that broke down late in the evening last week while here in Logan County.

Superintendent Kevin Hub said “That is just the type of person Chris is. He did not give it a second thought. It was just the right thing to do.”

Each day, Logan County busses travel more than 5,085 miles while safely transporting more than 1,600 students to and from school. Logan County’s fleet of 57 International busses log more than 890,000 miles each year.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2021