Nate Woodall, Bailey Cornelius lead Chanders graduates

Posted on June 7, 2015 7:52 PM


Chandlers School recognized the accomplishments and promotion of 53 eighth graders Thursday, May 28 in the school gymnasium.

Following the student-led invocation, individual students received awards for having the highest average in their respective classes. Nate Woodall received the Algebra I, Language Arts, Science, and Social Studies awards, and Bailey Cornelius received the mathematics award.

Blake Brady (art), Hannah Walker (music), Raymond Kirby (citizenship), Lauren Pollard (athletics), Amber Williams (perfect attendance), Cornelius (citizenship), and Woodall (athletics and academic team) also took home awards for their respective accomplishments.

Woodall earned Valedictorian honors, while Cornelius was the salutatorian.

President’s Awards for Educational Excellence recipients were: Arreus Biggs, Wyatt Breeding, Bailey Cornelius, Michael Cropper, Dalton Dean, Kassidy Justice, Brianna Loden, Lauren Pollard, Michael Ramsey, Gracie Richey, Makayla Rolett, Duncan Sandlin, Merina Sullivan, Hannah Walker, Briar Webb, and Nate Woodall. Ben Martin was recognized as a recipient of the President’s Silver Seal Award.

Students who maintained an “A” average in all of their seventh and eighth grade classes were then asked to stand and included Wyatt Breeding, Bailey Cornelius, Kassidy Justice, Lauren Pollard, Duncan Sandlin, Merina Sullivan, Hannah Walker, and Nate Woodall.

Chandlers School board of education representative Phil Baker then presented eighth grade diplomas to the Class of 2015: Hunter Appling, Arreus Biggs, Blake Brady, Wyatt Breeding, Jayce Buchner, Dakota Cardwell, Peyton Coffman, Bailey Cornelius, Michael Cropper, Taylor Cross, Dalton Dean, Adam Flick, Timothy Hagan, Daisy Jenkins, Caleb Jenkins, Joseph Jones, Kassidy Justice, Raymond Kirby, Jada Lewis, Charles Lindsey, Brianna Loden, Angel Markham, Ben Martin, Lindsey Mayhugh, Nathan McDowell, Sara Montgomery, Lauren Pollard, Cameron Porter, Racheal Price, Michael Ramsey, Gracie Richey, Hunter Roberts, Ruth Robertson, Caleb Robinson, Makayla Rolett, Duncan Sandlin, Nova Shockley, Camryn Smith, Lexie Speck, Drew Stranger, Merina Sullivan, Allyson Thomas, Kainin Thomas, Kya Thomas, Erik Vick, Hannah Walker, Briar Webb, Amber Williams, Isaac Williams, Nathaniel Woodall, Haven Woodall, Brooklyn Woodward, and Brianna Wright.

LCHS senior and former Chandlers School student Rachel Cunningham received the Aviles, Bush, Webb Scholarship to pursue a degree in education.

Principal Caycee Spears said, “Faculty and staff members of Chandlers School would like to thank all of the graduates for their determination and dedication and wish them all continued success. “


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2021