Wesley Estes of Logan FFA named state FFA president
By Jenna Simmons, Reporter

Posted on July 7, 2015 10:35 PM

On June 7, our 2014-2015 Logan County FFA President, Wesley Estes, left for Lexington as a State candidate from the Barren River Region to run for a state office. There was a total of 24 state candidates representing their Regions.

Being a state candidate involves various interviews to see their potential and if those candidates are fit to be state ffficers. After all these interviews, the results were determined and our very own Wesley Estes was selected to serve as the 2015-2016 State FFA President.

As president, Wesley will be attending several leadership workshops. One workshop he will be attending is the NLCSO, which is held in Lexington. Also as president, Wesley will get to visit different FFA chapters across the state and interact with different FFA members. Wesley will also get the opportunity to serve as a counselor at the Kentucky FFA Leadership Training Center for a week and teach FFA chapters across the state leadership skills and team-building skills.

Wesley also gets to attend a president and vice-president conference that will be held in Washington, D.C.

Along with getting State FFA President, Wesley also got various other awards at the Kentucky State FFA Convention. Wesley was in the top five in star in placement. This was based on his beef placement and his environmental science placement from working at the NRCS office.

Two other Logan County FFA members—both from Adairville—have served as state president. They were the late Steve Washington in the 1970s and Chris Robey in 1994-95.

On behalf of the Logan County FFA chapter, we are so thankful for all the work that Wesley has put in for the chapter and we know that he is going to do great things as state president.

Shown in the official officer team photo are Front (left - right): Purchase State Vice President Maryanna Frazier, President Wesley Estes, Big Sandy State Vice President Taylor Burnett, Vice President James Kash, Secretary Rachel Hinton.
Back (left - right): Lincoln Trail State Vice President Mason Carrico, Licking River State Vice President John Johnson, Northern Kentucky State Vice President Luke Trapp, Sentinel Abigail Higgins, Reporter Joseph Brock, Green River State Vice President George Bittel, Treasurer Taylor Nash.


Copyright © The Logan Journal 2009 - 2021